IPIC 2016-2017 Council

Stephen Beney
Bereskin & Parr LLP (Mississauga)

Peter Wilcox
Belmore Neidrauer LLP (Toronto)
Past President

Tracy Corneau
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (Ottawa)

Grant Lynds
Marks & Clerk (Ottawa)

Patrick Smith
Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP (Calgary)

Christian Bolduc
Smart & Biggar/Fetherstonhaugh (Montréal)

Timothy Lowman
Aird & Berlis LLP (Toronto)

Heather Mueller
Suncor Energy (Calgary)

Alexandra Steele
Robic, LLP (Montréal)

The members of Council (IPIC’s board of directors) are elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM). The Council is composed of nine members: the immediate past president, four officers and four councillors.

Every member of Council is elected for a term of one year. However, IPIC has adopted a practice which, subject to the vote by the members at the AGM, provides for continuity by allowing councillors to serve on Council for two years with two new members being elected each year.

After being absent from Council for at least a year, a former councillor may be invited by the Nominating Committee to become the treasurer. This person makes a five year commitment: after being treasurer, he or she normally becomes secretary then vice-president, president and finally, past president.

The Nominating Committee is composed of the president, the two immediate past presidents, and a fourth member. The Nominating Committee considers, among others, the names of IPIC members who, on their committee application form, have expressed an interest in serving on Council. The Nominating Committee also takes into consideration volunteer involvement by members as well as the requirement of maintaining a representative Council.